Yogi In Training

Sentiments About Bikrams Yoga

11 Comments

I have yet to try it, but I’ve always wondered what all the fuss is about Bikrams Yoga. Personally, the idea of being in a sweltering hot room full of other sweaty people doing flexibility and strength training exercises doesn’t necessarily appeal to me but I can be swayed by a good argument.

In my quest to find out more about the practice and why people are so obsessed with it, I decided to see what I could find through a social media statistics search via HowSociable and SocialMention.

Unfortunately, HowSociable doesn’t have a lot of options for the non-paying customer, so all I could get from there were a number of seemingly arbitrary scores related to Bikrams and various social media networks.

Here are my findings:

Image

Yeah, they don’t make much sense to me either…

SO, I ventured onto SocialMention which gave me significantly better results (and for free too!)

What I found was:

Bikrams has a 6% strength, 6:1 sentiment, 44% passion and 26% reach. There are an average of 58 minutes between mentions of Bikrams, and from when I checked the last mention was 24 minutes prior. There are 102 unique authors writing about Bikrams and the sentiments are divided into 44 positive, 192 neutral and 8 negative.

This was still a tad confusing so I figured I would analyze a few conversations myself and determine the sentiment reflected in them.

Without further ado, here is my analysis of 10 conversations about Bikrams Yoga (in no particular order at all, I just really enjoy countdowns):

10) Bikram Yoga for Panic Attacks

“I thought Bikram might help me manage stress but I was very nervous about trying it. It involved going to a place I had never been and staying in a room for 90 minutes with people I didn’t know. This is a terrifying prospect for someone with panics like mine. I literally had an entire therapy session dedicated to discussing if I could survive my first Bikram yoga class. I did survive. In fact, I thrived.”
Sentiment grade: +1

9) Can hot yoga benefit your young athlete?

“Hot yoga offers all these benefits for young athletes:

  • Reduced risk of injury during sports due to increased flexibility of muscles
  • Increase focus, concentration, and attention span
  • Positive self-esteem
  • More relaxation and better sleep patterns
  • Greater sense of peace and contentment
  • Better attitude; less anger”

Sentiment grade: +1

8) Bikram Yoga and Back Pain

Over eighteen months, I saw slow progress.The miracle happened when I started practicing two times a day. It took me 10 days of doubles to be pain-free. PAIN. FREE. As in, no pain. I could sit without a back support. I could roll over at night. I could put my pants on standing up.”
Sentiment grade: +1

7) The Yoga is Innocent

“There have been many classes and moments throughout my years of practice that have brought me to tears of both joy and frustration. There have been days where I have spent the entire 90 minutes of a class hating the class, postures, teacher, heat, etc.”
Sentiment grade: 0

6) IsItBullshit: Hot Yoga (Bikram)

“It’s no BS in the sense that doing yoga in a hot room gives you a heck of a workout. Every once in a while you’ll hear somebody say that hot yoga “sweats out toxins” or something like that, and that’s most BS, yes. But the big idea behind hot yoga is that it’s a strenuous form of exercise that’s easy on your muscles and joints and makes you feel great for having done it. So in that sense, it’s not BS.”
Sentiment grade: 0

5) I am in my fifth week of Bikram Yoga Teacher Training AMA

“Hi Reddit! Like the title says I am a little over half way to becoming a teacher of Bikram Yoga. For those of you who have heard about this process and want to know more, I would love to talk about it. This is the hardest thing I have done in my 22 years, and yet I am still loving every minute of it.”
Sentiment grade: +1

4) Bikram Yoga Kitchener-Waterloo | Beautiful Short Film

“An inspiring story of how Bikram Yoga KW and the Bikram Yoga practice has profoundly changed the lives of some of its’ practitioners.”

 

Sentiment grade: +1

3) Got Bikram Yoga Again! 6 months unlimited!!

Image
Sentiment grade: + 1

2) Yoga 101: Bikram Yoga Versus Hatha Yoga

“Bikram yoga does acknowledge the chakras and subtle energy bodies, and all the “spiritual” aspects of yoga, they’re just not taught in the classes. It’s kept simple and people can learn about it outside of the asana practice.”
Sentiment grade: -1

1) Popular hot yoga myths debunked

“Apart from possible injuries arising from over-stretching, intense sweating also brings about the risk of heat exhaustion and dehydration. Furthermore, those not used to exercising in a hot and humid environment may experience sluggishness, dizziness or nausea during their first initial lessons.”
Sentiment grade: -1

OVERALL SENTIMENT GRADE: 4

Not too bad, hey? Maybe I’ll give it a try…

Have you tried Bikrams Yoga? Thoughts?

11 thoughts on “Sentiments About Bikrams Yoga

  1. Hi Zlatina,

    My best friend is obsessed with bikram. She does it 5 times/week. Shes been trying to convince me to try it but I am so afraid to pass out. I have never been good with heat. Humidity makes me aggressive so I highly doubt I would be able to somewhat relax. I did purchase one of those groupons, almost a year ago now, and I have yet to try it! Now that summer is here, I am even less tempted to give it a try. Maybe I will finally make it in the fall!

    • I have a few friends that are obsessed with it too! But I’m the same as you, extreme heat just makes me grumpy and uncomfortable so I still don’t know how well I’d fare at Bikrams… maybe just maybe I’ll give it ONE try. Let me know how you like it if you try it out! 🙂

  2. Great list! I like the inclusion of the video post. I’ve always been tempted by Bikram’s as well, but I’m in the same boat – just don’t see the appeal of the hot room. I’d rather go do yoga on the beach in the summertime heat! 🙂

    • Thanks for the response! I definitely agree. I’m terrified of the crazy heat haha… beach time yoga sounds amazing though! I think they do that in July/August at Kits beach!

  3. It’s great to read what people say about Bikram yoga! I love how you described the your process of “discovering” sentiments around Bikram yoga – a very enjoyable and informative read, Zlatina!! My first yoga practice ever was actually in one of Bikram studios here in Vancouver. I recall sweating so much, being awfully nauseous, though I stayed in the room the whole time (something Bikram teachers tend to encourage their students) and, in the end, enjoyed the refreshing effects of it! I became so passionate about this style of yoga that you could see my going to the studio five days a week on some weeks (not to mention my yoga challenges). I liked the routine and the fact that there were 26 poses (times 2 :)), predictable poses. But, there came a point at which I felt like the routine was just too predictable without as much depth as I was ready for. I needed a place where I could build up the heat from within and move at a slower (more gentler, if you will) pace while still building strength and realizing the awesome meditative and restorative effects of yoga. So, I moved on and away from Bikram yoga and into other forms such as anusara, yin, flow ,….(and, yes, I will try Aerial Yoga sometime soon!). Despite not having done Bikram’s for many years now, I am a supporter of the practice because I believe that any movement is a good movement and that we each find our own style, sooner or later.

    • Thanks for the thorough response! Was really great to hear about your experience with Bikrams–it definitely makes me more intrigued to try it! I definitely think I’ll get nauseous as well and don’t know if I’ll be able to stick it out the entire time like you did but I think it’s worth a shot after hearing the positive benefits you felt from it!

      Thanks again 🙂

      • 🙂 One piece of advice: try not to focus on the “heat” aspect of it. You are already practicing yoga (in the air!!) so I am confident in your ability to rise and shine, as they say! It’s another question if you will end up enjoying it since you’ve already practiced other forms of yoga. Namaste!

      • Thanks Stasa :)!! I’ll let you know how I manage with it once I try it :D!

  4. Great post, Z! The results from HowSociable don’t appear to be of much use. On the other hand, the results from Social Mention are much more insightful! It’s interesting to see that Bikrams has a 26% reach, which I would expect to be higher. After all, it does have almost a cult like following which you would assume translates into high influence. Saying that, I’m not surprised to see that there are 102 unique authors discussing Bikrams!
    Your approach to this post is so honest and simple that it clarifies the topic you’re discussing. Really great post!

    • Thanks for the response and kind words Carson! I know, HowSociable seems totally useless haha… but the Social Mention stats were definitely interesting! I was also surprised at how many people are writing about Bikrams but by the sounds of it, the process of it is such an ordeal that the feeling of accomplishment after finishing a class deserves to be shared!

      Thanks again 🙂

  5. Hey! thanks for the informative post. I found the same with HowSociable. Not sure what the point is of offering a free service when you get almost nothing from it. Whereas SocialMention is great. They are upfront with their service and it provide valuable metrics. I wonder what their business model is for them to make money?
    James

Leave a comment